

Media Contact Information: Adrienne Hamilton, Communications Specialist Phone: 972.316.6114 • Email: ahamilton@dcta.net

Nicole Recker, Vice President of Marketing & Communications Phone: 972.316.6132 • Email: <u>nrecker@dcta.net</u>

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Denton County Transportation Authority Welcomes Two New Board Members

Lewisville, TX (October 28, 2015) – The Denton County Transportation Authority (DCTA) announces two new members to its Board of Directors: Tom Winterburn, representing the City of Corinth; and Connie White, representing Small Cities. Winterburn was sworn in the DCTA Board of Directors on September 24, 2015, and White was sworn in the DCTA Board of Directors on August 27, 2015.

"We are very excited to welcome Tom and Connie to DCTA's Board of Directors," **said Jim Cline, DCTA President**. "The addition of Tom and Connie helps position our Board to expand DCTA's system, increase ridership and better address current and future transportation needs in Denton County."

Tom Winterburn

Winterburn began his career at Abbott Laboratories in 1974 and was promoted and relocated several times before eventually relocating to Flower Mound, TX, in 1994. After 32 years of successful sales management, he retired in May 2006. Winterburn has been a certified long term care ombudsman since January 2011 for several nursing homes in Denton County where he advocates for residents' rights with direct involvement with state surveyors, nursing home administrators, social workers, nursing staff, dietary, and housekeeping. Winterburn holds a Bachelor of Business Administration (BBA) degree from the College at Western Michigan University. He resides in Corinth, TX, with his wife and has five children and eight grandchildren.

Connie White

White is the past mayor of Trophy Club, TX, elected in May 2009 and subsequently re-elected in 2011 – serving until 2014. She spent 26 years as a director on the Trophy Club Municipal Utility District Board and most recently was Master District Chairman. White served two terms on the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) Emergency Preparedness Planning Council and is on the Board of Directors of the Northwest Community Partnership. In addition, she served six years as the North Texas Representative to the Texas Association of Water Board Directors. White retired from American Airlines and SABRE after 34 years, most recently in the areas of strategic planning and project management. She holds a Bachelor of Science degree in business from New York Institute of Technology. White and her husband have three children and six grandchildren.

The DCTA Board of Directors is comprised of representatives from the cities of Denton, Lewisville, Highland Village, Corinth, Argyle, Flower Mound, Little Elm, Frisco, The Colony; as well as Denton County at large and incorporated.

###

ABOUT DENTON COUNTY TRANSPORTATION AUTHORITY

Formed in 2002 and funded in 2003, the Denton County Transportation Authority has been focused on an aggressive service implementation strategy to address the mobility needs of Denton County residents. The central element of DCTA'S Service Plan is the A-train, which connects with Dallas Area Rapid Transit's (DART) Green Line at Trinity Mills in Carrollton and provides service to five stations within Denton County. In addition to the A-train, DCTA provides bus service in the cities of Lewisville, Denton and Highland Village. The agency carries more than three million passengers annually system-wide. For more information about DCTA, visit www.RideDCTA.net.